HOW I SEE DEVELOPMENT OF RADIOAMATEURING NOWADAYS

20/02/2024 14:50

 

I must say at the beginning that I am already old and a little conservative.

Because of that fact my opinion on the HAM’s development is not positive (as you could read on this WAB many times).

1)

I see that my old HAM overseas friends are already died or seriously ill (unfortunately) and do not operate on HAM bands. It is the nature and cannot be changed of course.

2)

Younger generations have many other opportunities and problems. They are mostly not interested in our hobby (of course - the nature again).

3)

Operation activity in classic CW and SSB mode is not too strong in my opinion.

4)

Digital modes like FT-8 have a negative impact on CW and SSB activities in my point of  view.

Remark:

A few years ago I operated in FT-8 mode on HF and 2 meter band and made about 1000 QSOs. Finally I saw that it was not for me. But on the other hand if somebody enjoys when his PC does DX QSOs – why not (radioamateuring is only a hobby).

 

So that is my personal feeling about HAM activity nowadays.

I must say it again …… excuse me.