HOLICE 2019

24/08/2019 10:29

One year has passed. The international HAM-FEST Holice 2019 has come (August 23rd – August 24rd).

I visited the one at the first day (yesterday).  I met HAM friends like every year (some of them /face to face/ after more than 50 years /we are so old, what to do … /). I also visited the stands of Czech Radioclub, Slovak Radioclub, Croation Radioclub, Czechoslovak DX club (listeners of all radio waves spectrum) and especially OK QRP Club.

Stands of HAM equipment dealers were also interesting.  I also took part in the workshop of SDR (software defined radio). It was also very interesting for me (I have started some tests with this).

Generally: My feeling was that a little less people had took part in there than last years. There were some younger people there but the main part of “classic” HAMs were slowly getting old (again, what to do … ). It is unfortunately visible and not only in OK. 

By the way the sun minimum now (SFI 66 – 69) could be started so called Mounder minimum number 2 (without any sun spots for maybe next 30 - 40 years). It could be very bad for working on SW – CW,SSB (but it would not be my personal problem - hi). So I have been mainly SW and CW operator over my life and I am thinking what to change for now (for example: I am operating digital modes /PSK31, 63/ now - DX QSOs are possible on 14 MHz with 45W output power and HB9CV antenna beam while the propagation coditions are very poor).

So that is likely all what I can say today. I only add that no photographs are enclosed this year (similar to last years).