Experience with FT-8

04/03/2020 14:03

My feeling about my cca 2 month operation of FT-8 mode on 2 meters (144174 kHz) is a little embarrassed. I “made” some relatively long distance QSOs (my QTH was not too good for VHF) like F,YT,9A, S2, HG and all neighbor countries. Propagation conditions were also not too good. But I was not too satisfied. One Czech HAM said: “it is maybe better to use SKYPE”. He was maybe almost right (in my opinion). I am likely a little conservative and I am satisfied with operating CW, SSB, FM and also classical digital modes like BPSK31.

 

I also think that issuing DXCC diplomas for FT-8 mode (like for example for CW or SSB) is not too good for the radio amateuring future. 

 

The operation in FT-8 mode is technically very interesting. I was glad that I could operate it (on VHF and HF as well) but I do not plan to be too active with the one too frequently. On the other hand if somebody wants to use it and he enjoys it, why not. Radio amateur activity is only a hobby.